30 Days of Russian – Day 5

I didn’t have time to write yesterday, but I actually spent a lot of time studying Russian. I did my Duolingo tasks in the morning (remember that I’m doing 50 points every day, which is almost one complete lesson), where I practiced plurals and some vocabulary. This time I started making a list of the new words I learn in Duolingo on Quizlet. There are many words that I used to know but I totally forgot (particularly about food and items that you find in the kitchen).

screenshot-2017-02-09-21-12-27

I didn’t lie about changing my Facebook language to Russian, but apparently, it depends on the device I’m using.

After that, I studied old and new words on Quizlet. I’m trying to turn these two activities (Duolingo and Quizlet) into a habit so I can do them fast every day. I also received a lot of positive feedback regarding the post I wrote in Russian last time, although many people just wrote me on Facebook and not on Вконтакте. Hopefully, I’ll start talking with more Russian-speaking people, although my Russian level is still not high enough to have proper conversations.

I also had my weekly meeting with my friend with whom we’re studying each other’s languages. We finished a unit of the book I mentioned last time. Remember that if you’re a student at Nagoya University, you can find a language-learning partner if you write to NUFSA.

I also tried to watch or listen to stuff in Russian and I ended up here:

screenshot-2017-02-08-11-32-10

And the result was that (as it happens every time I try to understand what Russian speakers say) I was baffled by the extensive use of idioms in Russian, even in cartoons for kids. So maybe I’ll try to watch this again some day in the future.

Finally, here’s my daily Russian text:

Я думаю что русский язык очень трудно. Я много изучал, но я ещё ничего не понимаю и я не могу нечего не сказать потому что я не знаю много граматики. Но я хочу выучить руский. Я сделаю все восможное.

See you next time! Пока!


Gerardo Urbina is a Chemistry student at Nagoya University who loves reading and learning about anything. Born and raised in El Salvador, he speaks Spanish, English and Japanese, and is currently learning French and Russian. Read more about him and his ideas for The Relearner.

Leave a Reply

